Gotta getta Garmin…

11 Feb

This past weekend I ran with my friend Heather~ who also PR’d at 1:51:55. GREAT time! Heather got a new Garmin 405 recently and brought her old 205 along in case I wanted to try it out during the run.I was a little leary at first~ my last run I did I threw a few “new” things into the mix and it totally threw me for a loop (i.e BAD run!). After getting a quick introduction to how easy it is to use, I decided I’d go for it… and I’m SOOO glad I did. I know I haven’t posted the full race recap yet (waiting to get the pic’s all in order) but I was really disapointed that Surf City didn’t have a single clock out on the course. When I ran the LA R&R I could judge my time a bit at the various mile markers ~ but Surf City didn’t have a single one!

The Garmin told me not only how long I had been drudging running through the course, but also my current pace. I was given some expert advice (wait for the recap…) to keep my pace down for the first three miles (9:15) the first 5k and then pick it up to a 9 min pace after that. I wouldn’t have had the slightest idea what I was doing had it not been for the Garmin. And with it’s help, I was totally able to meet beat my goal!

So now I really gotta getta garmin… thinkin I’ll get the 405 ~ I’ll keep you posted how that works out. (I have been all over ebay the past few days…so I should have good news soon!!!)

PS Heather’s a blogger too! Check out her review of her new Garmin HERE!

Me messing with my borrowed Garmin~ Note to self...smile at the nice photographers on the course....

4 Responses to “Gotta getta Garmin…”

  1. kimert February 11, 2011 at 11:08 am #

    I LOVE my Garmin. Hubby got me the 305 for Christmas. My only issues is looking at it entirely too much especially during the long run.
    And way to go on the PR!!!

  2. Jess @ Blonde Ponytail February 11, 2011 at 12:14 pm #

    You look great–maybe it is a focused expression and not a frown! 🙂 The Garmin is such a nice “reassurance” to hve with you on a run!

  3. Zaneta February 11, 2011 at 5:58 pm #

    I got a garmin for Christmas and have only gotten to use it twice but I LOVE IT!! 🙂

  4. Katye February 12, 2011 at 3:33 pm #

    no race clocks??? You should be able to find a good deal on a 405. They discontinued it and replaced it with the 410 to fix the little glitches they had been having so since the 410 came out in November, I have seen some good deals on 405s!

Leave a Reply

