12 mile review…

15 Jan

Wow. I was not looking forward to this run. Thank goodness I’ve got my Man as my running partner~ he’s been pulling me a long on days I don’t feel like it. Having a running partner keeps you accountable, and he has definitely done that for me these past few weeks. My husband has this spot he loves to run. It is beautiful, quiet, and serene. BEAUTIFUL place to run. Every time I run through I think I need to bring my camera so I can share the beauty with all of you. The place is great to run…. except for the HILLS! The road leads you down into a valley, and to get to the valley, you gotta go down. It’s an out and back run, so while the down hill is great on the way in, you get the hills on the way out. Ugh!

Today was the longest run in our training for our half marathon. 12 miles. And today it happened to be windy… and the wind like to go down hill, again, great on the way out, but on the way back, we were running uphill into the wind. SUCKED!! BIG TIME!!! But, as with all runs, when you get through it, it SO becomes worth it. I felt like I could conquer the world!

And since we’re training for the Surf City half marathon (which I managed to get in…)  the hills are going to make our race feel like a walk in the park! Here’s the elevation of today’s run. (Which doesn’t look as crazy as it felt…)

You can’t see it too well, but there’s about a 700 foot elevation change from start to finish.

Here’s Surf City’s elevation:

Less than 100 foot elevation change. And, it’s 1800 feet lower elevation, so that is going to be nice too.

Time wise, we kept a 10 minute mile average, but we stopped every 3 miles and fueled up. It was a nice break~ and was also a time for My Man to stretch… his knees and ankles have been buggin’ him. For his LONGEST RUN EVER I thought he did AWESOME! LOVE that he’s out there with me =) Thanks Babe!!

How about you, do you run with someone? And what about training harder than the race~ do you think that’s a good idea?

Oh and one more thing… my nike+ is really ticken me off. The thing shuts off out of nowhere, after the first mishap, I’ve started wearing a watch. Today it did it again, and I think I’m DONE with it. Thinkin’ about a Garmin.  Any advice on which one to get? I’m lookin at the 305, the 310 or the 405’s. I like the size of the 405, but price wise, can get a lot more for my money with the 305 or 310.

4 Responses to “12 mile review…”

  1. Jana January 15, 2011 at 11:58 am #

    I think it’s good to train harder, that way on race day you TOTALLY know you are more than ready. The times that I’ve done that I’ve always ended up having great races. My Nike+ has lost a number of my runs and it really is frustrating and fairly unreliable. I still use it, but don’t trust it to be accurate…I much prefer my Garmin 305!! It rocks!!

  2. kimert January 15, 2011 at 12:32 pm #

    Great job on the run! I hate hills but where I live we cannot avoid them. lol I’m on running restriction or I’d have ran my 5 miler with the hubby. Bummer I missed it to get well. haha
    I got a 305 for Christmas and LOVE it! 🙂

  3. Heather Bird January 15, 2011 at 1:02 pm #

    Hi Sandy, Great job today! Happy to report my 12 miles are complete also. A pretty flat course for me, but tough nonetheless. You would love a Garmin. Any of them are great. It has seriously changed my running. I had a 205 and loved it but got a 405 for Christmas and love it even more. I mostly wanted it for the smaller size but love so much more about it.

    http://heatherbirdphotography.com/blog/index.php/2010/12/26/if-you-want-some-snow-just-ask-me-to-go-on-a-long-run/

    There is my blog post after my first run with it.

  4. Rae January 17, 2011 at 5:22 am #

    I have the 305 and love it. You can find great deals for it on Amazon.

    So glad you had a great 12-miler!

Leave a Reply

