Some things I’ve learned and want to share with you!

11 Jan

In the past week, I’ve received so many messages and seen a ton of posts on Facebook of people getting back into running. This makes me SO happy~ I know how a good run makes me feel, so to know that others are getting into the sport makes me stoked! I wanted to take a quick second and share a few gleams of info that I’ve received over the past year that have helped me out tons.

1. If you are serious about getting into running, get fit for shoes. Find a local running store and have them fit you into the proper shoe for you. And I don’t mean an over-commercialized “Sports Depot” type store that pays its employees minimum wage and they really have no idea what they are talking about… For me, my local store is The Running Center (and I know I have a lot of my friends reading this blog~ so go visit the Redlands store. The staff is GREAT!)

As far as shoes…my Mizuno’s work great for me, but might be terrible for you! Each foot is different and you need to have the shoe that fits your foot properly. Throw your desire for “a cute shoe” out the window. Running shoes have a specific purpose, so you might not find your perfect shoe in pink… The shoes are going to be expensive, I’ll save you the worry now… but in all actuality, it will save you tons in the long run~ you won’t find yourself with an injury because you’re in the wrong shoe ~ at that point you’ll have to give in and go buy the right shoes (and maybe even pay for a doctors visit….) Once you’ve got your perfect shoe, the shoe will last about 300+ miles, and after that, go find that same pair online…

2. Find a plan that you can stick to. If you want to run a half marathon and are looking at training plans~ find one that fits your schedule. If you can’t commit to running 6 days a week, find a different one! If you are just getting back into running, I really recommend starting with the Couch to 5k program. ANYONE (seriously ANYONE) can start from here and be up to running a full 5k in 6 weeks.

3. If you have a day that your supposed to run and just don’t want to, do it anyways. I’ve found that the days that I really didn’t want to run, I needed it most. I was going to either sit on the couch and vedge cause I was in a mood, or take the 30 minutes and move my butt! And after the run~ the endorphins start a workin’ and you feel like you could conquer the world! So get out there and move!!

I know I’m still new to this whole running thing (only been at it for a year) so PLEASE share in the comments section YOUR advice for new runners too! And if you’re reading this and are one of the new one’s out there, leave a comment too!

10 Responses to “Some things I’ve learned and want to share with you!”

  1. kimert January 12, 2011 at 8:05 am #

    I agree with all of these! Especially the shoes…the shoes are key to running.

  2. Heather January 12, 2011 at 8:16 am #

    Great suggestions, Sandy! I’ve been giving this some thought and I would have to say that signing up for a race makes all the difference in the world for me. Even if you are scared or unsure if you can finish it, if you just sign up, you’ll get there. I wouldn’t be running half of what I am running today if I didn’t have a race that I was getting ready for.

    • amomontherun January 12, 2011 at 8:44 am #

      Great point Heather! My sister had pushed me to sign up for my first 5k so I had to train for it. Another running friend says to always have a race on the books~ something to be working towards. (And if I have to add my own twist to this… PAY for the race too! Cause they do sell out…lol!)

  3. RickKaz January 12, 2011 at 9:26 am #

    Great recommendations! I’d also like to add that nutrition is very important, especially the night before a long run. I can definitely tell the difference in my performance between when I’ve eaten healthy and when I’ve chowed down on a big plate of nachos the night before. You don’t want to starve yourself, but eat the right mix of good carbs, fat, & protein. For me, I also eat some good carbs an hour or so before a long run and recover with a protein shake.

    Another important aspect to improving your running and staying injury free is REST. You need to schedule days of rest with no running to let your body recover, especially when increasing your weekly mileage.

    These are my suggestions after learning from my mistakes.

    • amomontherun January 15, 2011 at 11:14 am #

      Nutrition is very important! Great points!!

  4. Stephanie January 13, 2011 at 4:57 pm #

    Hi! I love your blog…we have a lot in common! I love all your tips. I am getting back into running after having my children and then last year having an injury. This time around, I need to make sure I keep the rest of my body in shape…”my core”…by doing sit-ups, etc. Running doesn’t really take care of every muscle, and as you get older, stretching and doing other exercises, will keep your body healthy enough to run. I also agree with signing up for a race, getting the best shoes (love Mizuno too!) and take rest days, but MAKING yourself stick to that schedule even when you don’t feel like it! SO SO true!! Signing up for my first half marathon in 2011…9 months from now!!!

    • amomontherun January 15, 2011 at 11:13 am #

      Excellent points too! And you’re going to rock your first half!!

  5. Long Legs on the Loose January 16, 2011 at 7:15 pm #

    thanks for the emphasis on getting fit and THEN BUYING THEM ONLINE! Working in a speciality running store, I love my job. But nothing erks me more than when you spend a good amount of time with someone…making sure they are in the right shoe and then they say, “so what is this one called…can you write it down for me” so they can go buy it as cheap as they can. slap in the face!

    • Long Legs on the Loose January 16, 2011 at 7:16 pm #

      I meant…buy them in the store at least the first time u get fit. and then do your research online for deals to your heart’s content. just don’t use someone’s time and go buy elsewhere ; )

      • amomontherun January 16, 2011 at 7:45 pm #

        Seriously agree! You running store people work HARD for your money, and that would be just wrong to waste your time!

Leave a Reply

