Last Race of the Year~ Bumble Bee Foods 5k Race Recap

31 Dec

So, I’m kinda a bit spontaneous… last week I saw a deal for Legoland (9.99 tickets) and woke the kids up and took ’em (and it was Christmas Eve Eve). My mother in law laughs at me~ she’s a planner (that whole side of the family likes to plan things…) but not me! If I see it, and I want to do it, I go for it.

In running land~ as I was perusing Facebook on Tuesday night, the running skirts team posted their last team run for Thursday~ The Bumble Bee Foods 5k~ which was the run before the Holiday Bowl in San Diego. So, on a whim, I asked my husband what he thought about me running and he said go for it. So, I did! (With really only one day’s notice. See my spontaneity? lol!!)

So, I headed out early Thursday morning, after a rainy and windy Wednesday. I was excited that it was SUNNY! The drive was great. (Got to listen to what I wanted too~ as a mom, this is often a rarity…) Once getting into down town San Diego got myself parked and registered for the run. Found the running skirts girls (not too hard to find a group of cute matching skirts!!). We took a group shot before lining up for the run.

 

Cute Skirts!

Yes, it’s sunny~ and I know many of you are snowed in throughout the states… so sorry to rub it in… but it was sorta, kinda cold (50 is cold for San Diego….lol!)  The race was the precursor to the Big Bay Balloon Parade, so we got to run in front of all the spectators out to see the parade~ always fun to have people cheering for ya! (And when you run in a skirt, people like to cheer more for ya! Seriously~ get the “love the skirt” comments all the time! Adds to the fun!)

The race itself was flat, and had the potential for me to be quick~ but I think I screwed up nutrition wise… I ate on the drive down, but should have had a little something a bit before the run too. Felt like I lacked the “umph”~ if that makes any amount of sense… I also felt the lungs tightening up on me again~ and I forgot the inhaler at home. I really need to get into the habit of packing that….

Out on the course.

All in all, I think the run was great. I gave it my best, and that’s what my goal was (and always is). The race wasn’t chipped, and to be 100% honest with you, I really don’t know for sure what my time was! (next big purchase here will be a garmin so I can track myself…). I think my time was somewhere around 24 to 25 minutes. At the last .10 I kicked it into high gear and booked it to the end, and didn’t look up as I crossed! And the race site doesn’t have the results posted =/.

Here’s a fun video the awesome people over at running skirts made of the run:

So with that being said, I think it was a fun finish to 2010. I had a great time getting to know the girls at running skirts a bit better, and it was a gorgeous day in Sunny San Diego. Even got in a quick-lunch with my brother and s-i-l. (Killed two birds with one stone!)

I am going to try to get in a few miles today, to loosen up my tight legs a bit. Have 10 miles on the books for this weekend,  think it’s going to be a great way to start the new year! (Hmm…maybe I’ll make it 11 for 2011?)

Happy New Years Friends!! And Happy Running!!

2 Responses to “Last Race of the Year~ Bumble Bee Foods 5k Race Recap”

  1. Tina@GottaRunNow December 31, 2010 at 8:30 pm #

    Looks like a fun race with great weather for racing! 11 on the first day of 2011 sounds like a good idea! Happy New Year!

  2. Rae January 4, 2011 at 7:57 am #

    You look absolutely awesome! Love your outfit!

Leave a Reply

