GOALS for 2011

30 Dec

Every year I start to think about New Year’s Resolutions all December long…. and then a few months into the new year, I generally can’t even tell you what my resolution was!! Tells you a bit of something about my resolutions =/. This year, I’m going to call them goals.  And this year, I have my blog to keep me a bit more accountable~ so much so that I’m going to learn how to post this on the right hand side of my blog, so it will be sitting right there looking at me. (I may even print it out…. wait, no I shouldn’t waste the paper~ I know it’ll just end up in a stack and that’s not going to do me any good…)

I’d like to set some goals that relate to all different aspects of my life~ as a wife, as a mom, as a runner, and as a follower of Christ.  And, from what I remember about goals, they need to be tangible… things that can be marked off
~ not just something like “I want to be closer to my husband” but something you can actually check off, like “one date night a month.”

So, on that note, here’s the begining of  my list of goals for 2011:

As a Wife:

  • At least one night a month “us” time (no kids!)
  • Cut our spending expenses (coupon shopping, not buying “senseless stuff”)

As a Mom:

  • “Date” time with each kid, at least once a month

As a Runner:

  • Run 1,000 miles in 2011 (this scares me a bit!)
  • Run my first marathon (this scares me even more!!!) now I gotta find one!!!

As A Christian Woman:

  • Consistently get up and spend time alone with God every day
  • Memorize some verses! This is actually really hard for me… so my goal is 2 a month.

 

Ok, there, I wrote them down. I do have the right to change them, right? I guess only until tomorrow at midnight… but no, seriously, these are things I’d like to work towards. They are all specific and even if I don’t complete each and every one of them, if I can be consistent most of the time with each of these things, I think 2011 is going to be awesome!

What are your GOALS for 2011?

3 Responses to “GOALS for 2011”

  1. Robin Hays December 30, 2010 at 6:27 pm #

    I think this is a great blog! Totally realistic goals….I put a few goals on another exercise site that I am on and it was to get my 1/2 marathon in which is looking like Run through Redlands! Also by this time next year have reached 20 miles running… I have been doing a lot of thinking about the other areas of my life as well and plan on doing some writing before the clock strikes 12 😉 Happy New Year!

  2. Mom December 30, 2010 at 6:31 pm #

    Great goals. You are missing the daughter goal!!!!

    • amomontherun December 30, 2010 at 6:44 pm #

      Ok Mom~ here ya go~ have the parents OVER for dinner at least once a month =P

Leave a Reply

