Product Review: RunningSkirts.com arm sleeves

21 Dec

Remember my half marathon I ran? Yeah~ the one in L.A. (if you have no idea what I’m talking about or just want to relive the moment with me, you can read all about it here).  I decked myself all out in some fun new running gear, and have yet to tell you all about the great new products, SO I decided to write some fun product reviews so you can all understand their greatness =).

Up first, is the new compression sleeves/arm warmers from RunningSkirts.com. I purchased myself a pink pair of arm sleeves while at the race expo to wear for my half. I was concerned with being cold at the race, and these things worked out perfectly. I wore the sleeves at the begining of the run, and about half way through the run I pushed them down. And then later, I took them off completely and just tucked them into the back of my fuel belt.

While at the expo, Christy, from Running Skirts, told me they could also be tucked into the pockets on my skirt. Now that I’ve ran with the sleeves since the race, I’ve done this a few times. They do tuck into the pockets, but are a bit bulky in there~ works, but the pockets bulge a bit.

The sleeves come sized S/M or M/L. I ended up with a S/M. The sleeves aren’t too tight. I do find myself pulling them up every now and then~ but not to the point where they’re falling off. I don’t think I’d want them much tighter~ I think it would be bothersome if they were too tight. Hmm…now that I think about it, maybe I need to work those biceps out a bit more… that might help too!

The sleeves are a nice “high performance tech fabric” that is light, and wicks the moisture away to keep you dry, comfortable yet warm at the same time.  There is two layers of the material (one lining and one outside) so when you wash them (cold and hang to dry) they tend to shift around a bit~ after the first washing I thought I ruined them, but with some straightening they were fine (don’t see this as a problem at all~just something to be aware of).

The sleeves also have a thumbhole, which I love. It keeps the sleeves down, and, keeps your hands warmer. On my last run wearing them, it wasn’t too cold and I actually kept my thumbs out and tucked the thumbhole into the sleeve. There is also a small pocket on each glove, on the upper part of the arm. I haven’t used the pocket, but you could definitely store a gel in them.  With all the pockets that come in the skirts, I haven’t had a need for this pocket.

The sleeves come in all kinds of fun colors! They have a set to match each of their fall line skirts.

These sleeves appear to be well thought out and outstanding quality. You can purchase them for $29  at the runningskirts.com website in the Accessories section. It appears that these are selling out fast, so act quickly! The ladies over at runningskirts.com are also great to work with. Wonderful customer service (and nice too!)

 

 

On another note: Check out the BIC Bands Non-Slip Headband giveaway I have going on HERE!

3 Responses to “Product Review: RunningSkirts.com arm sleeves”

  1. Long Legs on the Loose December 22, 2010 at 7:21 am #

    love it! i have a few pairs and love them but i haven’t been able to really wear them lately since it has been typically under 27 degrees on my runs

  2. Cynthia December 22, 2010 at 8:45 am #

    Great information on the sleeves! I’ve been eyeing them for the spring.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Product Review: RunningSkirts.com RunLove Swift Socks ~ compression socks « A Mom On The Run - December 22, 2010

    […] and it’s given me LOTS of time to blog about fun things. I got a pretty good response to my arm sleeves review, so I’m continuing with my latest love: Compression […]

Leave a Reply

