Stress fighters this Christmas.

17 Dec

During the Christmas season, it is so easy to get STRESSED OUT! I know I am…. shopping isn’t done… tree’s not even decorated, (shoot, it’s not even up yet!)  I was reading Fit Mom’s Blog and she shared her top five stress busting ideas, and asked others to share theirs…

SO, on that note, here’s a few of mine:

1. (as I posted in her comments) Turn off the TV! Is it just me, or is every single ad on TV something that my kids think they need? I’m tired of the “I want that!” comments, so I’m shutting off the tube. My sis has a great plan~ no tv till after 6. Hmmm….wonder if I can implement that one. When we do shut off the TV, I push the kids outside (since it’s GORGEOUS out!) and let them play.

2. Cut something out~ and don’t stress about it! You just can’t do it all, and need to release the stress that this “thing” is holding over you! This year, I’m not stressing about Christmas Cards (sorry family!) I just can’t… although I do think I might do some New Year’s Cards/letters….

3. Plan! As a mom, planning meals has helped take off the stress of what’s for dinner~ and has also saved me multiple trips to the store during the week. Simple, but very effective year round stress reliever.

4. Get out and workout! Take some time, even if it’s just 5 minutes, and get those muscles working. Recently, I’ve had a few bad days (which actually led to a bad week) but when I got out there on my run, I could feel the pressures of the world just melting away. Something about it…probably those endorphins that your body naturally releases, but definitely works and makes me feel more sane!

5. Remember the reason for the season. It’s not about getting the perfect gift, as my pastor said: it’s not about the price you paid but the price He paid! Jesus was sent to this earth as a gift for all~ and all you have to do is accept! Focusing on Him this season is actually a huge stress reliever!!

 

What are your top 5 Stress Fighting Tips for the Holiday Season?

One Response to “Stress fighters this Christmas.”

  1. Tammy Proctor December 17, 2010 at 8:52 am #

    1) alcohol
    2) alcohol
    3) alcohol
    4) alcohol
    5) more alcohol

    Just kidding =) I love yours. It’s so easy to lose focus on the REAL meaning of Christmas !!!

Leave a Reply

