RACE Day Recap

1 Nov

I know, I know, I have been M.I.A. Call the search parties in, cause I’m fine….just overwhelmed with being a mom with Halloween and school and the hubby….whoo! I’m getting tired again just thinking about it!

OK. So, on to the recap of my first half marathon!

I didn’t sleep hardly at all the night before the big run…I woke up multiple times, every time thinking I had missed the alarm clock…finally, the 4:15 wake up call came and I crawled out of bed and suited up.We met up with the rest of our team down in the lobby at 4:40 (WAY to early in the morning….but the adrenaline had us going already!)

Way too spirited for this early in the morning!

After taking the fun bus ride up to the top of Griffith Park, we walked about 1/4 mile to the staging area. Hit the first trip to the Porta Potty~ since we were there SO stinkin’ early (about 5:45) the lines weren’t bad at all…yet! We all hung out since we had just under 2 hours to start time! It was a bit too chilly to check my bags, so I waited as long as I could. About 45 till start I found my UPS truck (pretty smart idea!) and dropped off my swag bag. Found the shortest porta potty line I could for the final trip and waited…

 

Never ending line of porta pottys!

At this point, the crowd is there in full force and it’s starting to hit me, this is really going to happen! I’m really going to run a half marathon! I started to head out to the start line and found my coach and Megan. Dustin was pretty sure that I could get a faster time than my original goal of 2:10 and had decided to pace a group of us to shoot for a 2:00 time.

 

Coach Dustin, Me and Megan, finding our way to our spot.

Time seemed to have flown at this point~ didn’t feel like an hour and a half had really gone by. Dustin saw the 2:00 pace group up ahead and pushed us up in coral’s (he assured us that since he has a coach bib on, we were allowed to do these kind of things 😉 ).  On the way up, saw many a fellow runners using the VIP potty (bushes off to the side!) Too funny! I guess when nerves kick in, you gotta go! We were ready to start, and so where the 14,000 other runners who joined us for a morning of fun!

 

And there are only about 5 corals in front of us! (there are 14 behind!!)

The gun officially went off at 7:30 and we were off! Well, not yet, we had to wait about 4 minutes to get to the start line, but it the start was exhilarating!  All these people doing the same crazy thing! We found our pace and we settled in. I was feeling good, and the faster pace was great! We hit the 5k marker in 28 minutes, and were on track for a smokin’ time!

Feeling good!

The weather was perfect! Not too hot, and nice and cool at the start. I ran probably the first half with my arm sleeves, from RunningSkirts.com on~ and once I started to warm up, I pushed them down for a bit and then once I took them off completely, I just looped them through the back of my belt.

I had my fuel belt filled with my favorite Gatorade~ Lemon Lime and had a pack of Power Bar Gels. In my training, I ran with both of these, and knew my body could handle them well. BUT, I had never raced with them before…. and my body DID NOT like them one bit! I kept feeling sick to my stomach and so I switched to water…

I started to feel a little, well, done, around the 9 mile mark. My body was tired and there seemed to be a lot more hills than we had trained for. I started slacking off a bit and my coach was really trying his hardest to encourage me. I didn’t feel like talking much, so a thumbs up became my sign that everything was ok.

 

Thumbs Up!

Like a mentioned, the stomach was just not feeling it, and I told my coach~ “I think I’m going to throw up!” He says back: “What? You love this?!” and I tell him again~ “NO! I said I think I’m going to throw up!” And he says: “I know, I’m just translating for you~ you love this!” Haha! At the time, I didn’t love it. In fact I really hit “the Wall” that everyone talks about and started thinking, “WHY THE H3!! am I doing this?!!” But, my coach continued to push me (literally on one hill~ kept me going) and told me to find that motivation…find some drive deep down in there…you trained for this, you can do it.

I started thinking about one of my most favorite mentor’s….Linda. My friend who I was running in honor for~ Linda had Non-Hodgkins Lymphoma and had to fight for her life.  I thought about how I have never had to fight like Linda fought. I never lost all my hair, or had my mouth filled with sores so bad that I couldn’t eat. Linda did NOT have a choice to fight for her life~ she HAD to! I had a choice to be out there running, and through my run, and raising funds with Team In Training, I was helping to one day find a cure for Blood Cancers. Seriously, thinking of Linda got my going again. (even to the point of tearing up…)

 

Who I ran for!

At mile 11 Coach Dustin had to leave me~ this was his spot to run in all the other members of the team. He had assured me that I was pretty much done, and all I had to do was kick it in and I’d have a great time. As I headed into downtown LA and all the tall buildings I was feeling like I could actually do this. Well, Coach had forgotten about the last hill….(which after the run he acknowledged!) The thing was a killer! I was SO past being done, that I had to walk it. After “the hill” all the other runners really started to kick it in. Me, not so much! I didn’t feel like I had anything left to KICK! I started thinking to myself, where the heck is mile 13?! We started weaving in and out of streets and finally hit mile 13, and shortly after I saw my husband, two adorable kids, and wonderful mother-in-law cheering me on! I had to stop and give them a quick kiss~ and headed in for the finish.

After seeing the kids & my man~ on my way to finish!

This was when it really started to be “worth it.” The crowd was fantastic, the band playing was wonderful, and I was really going to finish my first half marathon! Those running around me started to get a little silly~ dancing and jumping towards the finish line. All I could think to m

yself was, “how on earth do they have the energy to be doing that?!” The red carpet finally came and I threw my hands up. I did it! I did it!

Crossing the finish line was so amazing! Almost something I can’t put into words. It was a cumulation of 13 weeks of hard work, put into a two-hour period. It was all worth it. The wall, the pain, the victory. 2 hours, 3 minutes and 27 seconds of hard work~ all worth it!

I was really, really happy with my time. I beat my original goal of 2:10 by 6 minutes and 33 minutes!

And now, I can’t wait to do it again. This time, I’m hoping to drag a few others along with me….

Here’s a few of my splits for those techy friends out there that want to see how my run went:

  • 5k: 28:00
  • 4.2 miles: 37:22
  • 5.2 miles: 48:31
  • 10k: 55:53
  • 10 mile: 1:32:12
8 Responses to “RACE Day Recap”

  1. kimert November 1, 2010 at 5:24 pm #

    Way to go! Congrats!
    Love your race pics, you look great!

  2. Heather Bird November 1, 2010 at 5:36 pm #

    Sandy… Got choked up reading this and especially about Linda. You are so awesome to have raised so much money and to have run such a great time! Surf City? I am considering it. And Ken may want to too. We’ll see if we can make it work. Awesome job.

  3. dustin November 1, 2010 at 7:05 pm #

    Congrats! I hope you inspire many others to run. It was a pleasure being out there with you….and once again..sorry about that last hill. =/

  4. Zaneta November 2, 2010 at 2:44 pm #

    CONGRATS! What a great time!! 😀

  5. Long Legs on the Loose November 2, 2010 at 4:23 pm #

    great job! I know that feeling of wanting to quit but thinking of those who would do anything to be in your place. its wat gets me through! congrats again!

  6. Kindra November 2, 2010 at 5:31 pm #

    I love you, girl. And thanks for making me cry and for doing this for my mom. I am eternally grateful and SO proud of you.
    I WILL be there for the next one! 🙂

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Product Review: RunningSkirts.com arm sleeves « A Mom On The Run - December 21, 2010

    […] what I’m talking about or just want to relive the moment with me, you can read all about it here).  I decked myself all out in some fun new running gear, and have yet to tell you all about the […]

  2. Product Review: RunningSkirts.com RunLove Swift Socks ~ compression socks « A Mom On The Run - December 22, 2010

    […] to the socks…. like I said earlier, I have only run one half marathon~ and I ran it in these socks. Throughout the run, my lower legs felt great. I was warm, but as the […]

Leave a Reply

