Starting to pack my bags!

21 Oct

After a MUCH needed coffee date with one of my closest friends, I went and piked up my race single and headed over to Joann’s to get some last minute shirt decorating goodies. (Puffy paint!)  I also ran into Marshall’s and scored on some sporty sunglasses. I’ve been meaning to pick up a pair for some time now! No more squinting and I’ll be able to look up and take in all the L.A. sites this weekend.

I “think” I have all my goodies for this weekend and now I’m getting ready to pack my bags! I’ve read many a blogs on preppin’ for a run, so the plan is to lay out the entire outfit before it goes into the suitcase to make sure it’s all there and accounted for.

Here’s the problem… I’m concerned about the race singlet. The weather is supposed to be in the 50-60’s (which is cold for this So Cal girl!) and my top is a tank top.   Here’s my question for all you experienced runners: Do I wear a long sleeve underneath? Or should I opt for arm sleeves (was wanting to get a pair at the expo anyways)?  My concern is getting hot on the run and wishing I didn’t have the long sleeve underneath.

My favorite running attire store, runningskirts.com has new arm sleeves with pockets…hmmm, maybe I could get some to match that new skirt I’m planning on getting….

8 Responses to “Starting to pack my bags!”

  1. RickKaz October 21, 2010 at 5:06 pm #

    What you could do is buy a cheap set of sweats from the thrift store and toss them to the side right before the race starts. Once you start running, your body should be warm enough. The discarded items are usually collected and donated to local charities. Good luck with the race!

    • rebecca October 21, 2010 at 5:17 pm #

      so proud of you sandy!!! good luck!

  2. Robin October 21, 2010 at 5:12 pm #

    I agree with RickKaz too— but I do really like the stylish arm sleeves….as long as u don’t think they will start to bother u during your run -because I think that could effect the mental aspect of long distance running! So excited for you it is going to be an amazing powerful experience…

  3. Tracy October 21, 2010 at 5:28 pm #

    For my half marathon earlier this month, I took a pair of knee socks and cut the toes off. I used them for arm warmers until the weather warmed up and then I tossed them.

    • Tracy October 21, 2010 at 5:29 pm #

      I meant to add

      GOOD LUCK!!! And ENJOY your race! 😀

  4. daneen October 22, 2010 at 3:45 am #

    Sounds like you already know what you want. I’d err on the safe side and bring a light long sleeve jacket that zips so your race number can still be on your singlet and you can take it off and tie it around your waist if you get too hot if that doesn’t annoy you or short sleeve compression under armor heat gear with you incase you don’t find the sleeves you want at the expo. What will you do with the sleeves if you get too hot during the race?

  5. Heather Bird October 22, 2010 at 1:45 pm #

    Sandy… It’s good to have something you can toss so you aren’t too cold to start with, but I would definitely get hot once I started running in those temperatures. So I would err on that side and not put anything under my singlet. (I’m not a born and bred Southern Cali girl though 🙂 Best of Luck! I am so proud of you and wish I was there to cheer you on! Can’t wait to hear your results.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. A little inspiration… « A Mom On The Run - October 22, 2010

    […] for all your ideas to my quandary HERE. I actually think I’m going to take everyone’s advice and compile it…. I’m […]

Leave a Reply

