Little Runner Boy

20 Oct

I’ve put in close to 200 miles in my training adventure and my kids are starting to catch the running bug too. My six year old son has been dying for me to take him for a run, so on Sunday, after running 3 on my own, I came back to get him and see if he could put in the last mile with me. He was so excited. The first thing he wanted to do was eat one of my Powerbar Energy Gel Blasts. (He thinks it really helped!)

Me and The Boy

We have a sports park by our house with a nice (concrete) track that goes around a ton of soccer fields. I haven’t been training there, cause I can’t stand to run around the same thing again and again…(but that’s another story!) My Boy amazed me with how well he did! He got a little side ache, but worked his way through it. He took a few walking breaks on the down hill portion of the track, but blew me away by running all the way up the “hill” side (which really isn’t too much of a hill, but when I wasn’t a “runner” I used to have to walk it cause I’d get out of breath trying to jog up it). Not too shabby for the boys first time out! All in all, he ended up putting in 1.33 miles and didn’t complain one bit! I think I’ve found myself a running partner! Now to find him a fun little local run.

My lil runner boy!

 

Do you run with your kids? Wondering what type of a “race” should I find for him….Thinking of putting him in for the Mission Inn Kids 1/2 K Run coming up on November 14th.

5 Responses to “Little Runner Boy”

  1. Tracy October 20, 2010 at 7:51 am #

    How fun! I love to run with my 8y/o son.

    At 6 y/o your son can definitely run a 1/2 K or even a 1K with no trouble. My son LOVES to run ‘real’ races since they often give the kids medals or ribbons.

  2. Miranda Cunanan October 20, 2010 at 10:41 am #

    So cute! The girls are doing a kinder run the first weekend of November in Santa Clarita. I know it’s not super close, we are visiting family at the same time. Annabelle loves running with her dad and wants a medal like him too.

  3. Heather October 20, 2010 at 12:15 pm #

    Sandy, Ricky ran a 1K run after the Ogden Marathon that I did in May. He was just under 4 1/2 at the time. I think he could definitely do the 1/2 K. Ricky LOVED the race, was SO happy to get a medal and keeps asking me when the next race for kids is. I say start ’em early!

    • amomontherun October 20, 2010 at 2:32 pm #

      I’d love for Riley to run a 1k~ but the Mission Inn Run has an age requirement of 8-12 for their 1k….Thinking of calling to see if we can bend the rules a bit.

  4. Zaneta October 20, 2010 at 8:23 pm #

    How fun is that?! 😀 too cute!

Leave a Reply

