The good and the bad of running…

15 Sep

I’m deep into the half-marathon training at this point.

The GOOD~ I’m really loving my training. I love the schedule and it’s actually helping me to be more on task in other areas of my life too. If I want to get out and run, I know I’ve got a list of other things I need to have in order first.

The BAD~ My body is starting to fight it a bit~ aches and pains….specifically my ankle. I’m trying to decide if it’s my old achilles injury that’s bugging it, if it’s the fact that I ran on concrete vs. asphalt for a week, or if it’s the shoes (which I purchased at the local running store after they checked my stride out). The icing routine hasn’t been too enjoyable either, but I’m noticing results!

On to the actual runs….

The GOOD~

I missed my long run on Saturday with the Team, so I had another good friend run with me on Sunday for my LONGEST RUN EVER~ 10 miles! Woot woot! First off, Liz ran with her Garmin watch on and I was very impressed. She emailed me the results~ I love the breakdown it gives you for the entire run!

TIMING:

Time: 01:39:23
Moving Time: 01:38:14
Elapsed Time: 01:41:34
Avg Speed: 6.0 mph
Avg Moving Speed: 6.1 mph
Max Speed: 7.5 mph
Avg Pace: 09:56 min/mi
Avg Moving Pace: 09:49 min/mi
Best Pace: 08:01 min/mi

I was pretty excited with the results. This was a good great run. Now if I can just talk Liz into running the half with me in L.A.~ you know you want to Liz!

The BAD~

Well, fast forward to yesterdays six-mile run. I was trying to get it in on the treadmill while my husband was at work and The Girl was napping. I turned on a movie and started out…Yeah, well, lets just say the movie was interesting (?….does that count as an excuse?) I ended up on the couch. I just totally wasn’t feeling the treadmill thing! I ran, I walked, I stretched, I ran some more, and at that point only 30 minutes had passed by…YUCK! I was just not feeling it. So, I sat and watched the movie (feel free to laugh here). When My Man got home, I decided to go out for a 4 mile run on the pavement. It was a little better. I still wasn’t feeling it, and I just don’t get why some runs just suck like that. I would have much rather been doing something else… but I did it, and in the last stretch of my run, I started to enjoy the run.

We’ll see how today’s 5 mile run goes…..time will tell! Hoping it’s a good one!

On another note, have you entered the awesome giveaway I’m hosting? You could win an awesome pair of AURIA Exceed Earphones by entering HERE!

One Response to “The good and the bad of running…”

  1. Heather September 20, 2010 at 10:47 pm #

    You totally need a Garmin. LOVE mine and while sometimes I wish I would just go out for a leisurely run without caring, I always have it and love to see my results.

Leave a Reply

