looking for some advice….

25 Aug

I’ve been moving right along in my half marathon training. This past Saturday I met up with the team at 6:30 for our 6 mile run. It was awesome! I felt really good~ even through the hills. Managed to run the 6 miles in 57 minutes. Woot woot! I was super stoked!

My weather at 7:45am.....YUCK!

Now on to midweek training….Coach has us running on Tues (5), Wed (5), and Thur (4). Well, yesterday I thought I’d be able to run the 5 after The Boy headed out to school. My goal was to head out with The Girl in the jogging stroller (first time since she was 6 months old~ she’s 3!) and we’d go for the 5 at 7:45. We headed out and it was already getting hot. I realized how much of a pain the jogging stroller was and after heading up the hill for the first mile of my run (just the way my route goes…) I said forget this! And headed back home. I got in 2.65 miles with the intention of hitting the treadmill in the afternoon. That didn’t happen….

Here’s where I need all you expert runner’s advice (or those of you with more experience than me!) I’m thinking of running 6 on the treadmill this morning and then 5 tomorrow to keep the mileage total close to what Coach has on the schedule. I felt good for the 6 this weekend, so I’m thinking I should be good. Is this a good strategy? What would you do?

I’m anxious for the weather to cool down a bit so I can start running in the evenings. I don’t feel comfortable running before the sun comes up (safety reasons and cause my body just isn’t comfortable at that hour either!). Still trying to get this training thing down…guess it’ll be me and the treadmill for a while!

One Response to “looking for some advice….”

  1. RickKaz August 25, 2010 at 8:06 am #

    I think your plan is ok, just don’t push the pace too hard on Thursday and don’t do any exercise on Friday so that your legs are well rested for Saturday.

Leave a Reply

