Off Topic Tuesday

24 Aug

Wow! My son’s first week back to 1st grade has thrown me for a loop! I started blogging over the summer, and I’m working on getting my groove back into this blogging thing. I’m still here though! Don’t fret!

I’ve also been busy setting up my facebook page  for BIC Bands (are you a fan yet?! Check it out and become a fan!) and also setting up an Etsy Shop. (The Etsy shop is still a work in progress….but it’s getting there! Trying to set up a few new listings everyday).

But now on to (my sister’s favorite post!)….. Off Topic Tuesday!

SO….I’m not the most organized person in the world (Mom, stop laughing…) It’s been something that has plagued me all my life. I must admit that I feel like I’ve been a lot more organized lately, but with 2 kids, a big house and lots of stuff…it just happens (right?!). My aunt was recently telling me about Peter Walsh’s great book called It’s All Too Much: An Easy Plan for Living a Richer Life with Less Stuff.  I bought the book and have been reading it….wow! I have been amazed by all the practical, easy advice to get rid of the junk, and live a richer life. I now realize that my home has a much bigger impact on my mood, my families mood, and so many other things.

This morning, I spent a good hour in our closet (ok~ that sounds like a long time, but it’s a big closet….so give me that, ok!). I got rid of SO much stuff, it was almost freeing clearing out the stuff that was hiding in there. Don’t laugh, but I got rid of the prom dresses (sorry The Girl~ you’re not going to be able to try it on and walk around like I did in my moms~ she can look at the pictures!), purged through some clothes that were just not making me happy, and had a box full of shoes that hadn’t been worn in a long time.

Now I have this big pile of stuff….I’m debating having a yard sale (cause I know that once I get the rest of the rooms dealt with, I’m going to have a lot of stuff!) or if I should just take it to goodwill and be done with it. I’m kinda leaning toward the goodwill….then I don’t have to deal with a yard sale!

So….what about you? Do you keep too much stuff? Is it weighing you down? Or, do you have a great technique that helps you keep clutter under control?

 

4 Responses to “Off Topic Tuesday”

  1. Tonda August 24, 2010 at 1:31 pm #

    I love giving stuff away so i go through my stuff often and the boys stuff and give people bags of my “crap” But Robby keeps alot of junk…like every hot vw mag and 4×4 mag hes ever bought is saved! uh its annoying!

  2. Charlee August 24, 2010 at 4:12 pm #

    I am a tosser I go through stuff often I hate clutter I may be messy but I can’t stand having too much stuff. With the kids stuff I always hand it down to someone in need or in want. Mine however I geve to charity our neighborhhod and yard sales isint a good mix. In our house if you have not used it in 6mo it goes!

  3. Mom August 24, 2010 at 5:54 pm #

    Set a date for a yard sale and put the proceeds towards your run!

  4. amomontherun August 29, 2010 at 5:15 pm #

    Mom, I’m taking your advice =) I’m stashing the stuff away for a yard sale.

Leave a Reply

