Playing it safe

16 Aug

I hate to even have to think about a topic like this, but it’s something I think we all need to be aware of, runners and even non runners… Staying safe out there. I’m sure most of you are familiar with the story of Chelsea getting abducted and murdered down towards San Diego. This past summer a young girl, Norma was abducted and murdered 15 minutes from my home in Moreno Valley, CA. She was walking home from summer school and her killer is still on the loose. This kind of stuff makes me sick. But, we can’t let it stop our lives, we can’t let the “bad guys” win and hold us hostage in fear.

THAT being said….we have to protect our self. My husband bought me this cute pink pepper spray a while back to carry with me on my runs. I love that it can hook it on my belt as I’m running. It also comes with a quick release key chain clip. The canister is pink ~ which makes it highly visible~ the bad guy see’s it and knows you’re not an easy target(and who doesn’t love pink?!)

I also tested it yesterday~ (cause I’d never sprayed it before…) and it comes out in a stream and is red~ looked like liquid cayan pepper (don’t worry! I didn’t spray anyone or anything. just a quick test on the road).  These little guys are cheap (only 11.95 at runningskirts.com) and completely worth it in my book….could possibly save your life!

What do you do to keep safe out there?

3 Responses to “Playing it safe”

  1. Zaneta August 16, 2010 at 5:44 pm #

    I’ve actually only carried a stick from a tree to protect me from dogs before… I’m a little on the naive side when it comes to running because i think that the world’s a big happy place… but it would be smart to get some spray! Thanks for the reminder that sometimes there are bad people out there…

  2. RickKaz August 17, 2010 at 7:37 am #

    T has the same spray and I have a black one, we got them at Big 5 for $9.95. I carry it mostly for dogs while running, she carries it everywhere. I’ve recently stopped listening to music while running so that I can be more alert to what’s around me, especially since I usually beging my run before the sun rises.

  3. Tonda August 23, 2010 at 3:45 pm #

    make sure u spray it every few months to make sure its still working

Leave a Reply

