Off Topic Tuesday

3 Aug

So, I know my blog is about running (and I must say I’m surprised how many of you are always reading up on me! Thanks!) But now, I’m going to mix it up a bit with a new segment I’d like to call, Off Topic Tuesday. Just so I don’t always bore you to death with my running details, I’m going to devote my Tuesday blogging to something else….anything other than running. This is going to be fun, I think!

So, here’s my first Off Topic Tuesday post~

At my house we are a little chicken crazy. It all started back in April when my husband talked us into getting our own chickens. We thought we’d start off with maybe 4-6 Rhode Island Reds, and well….that turned into 16 cute soft and fluffy chickens! Yeah, we were kinda crazy. 

We instantly fell in love with the little fluff balls and now they are kinda like our pets. Two of our “girls” (as we like to call them around here) started laying eggs the past two days. You should have seen the excitement on The Boy and The Girl as they found the eggs today. Totally thrilled!

Our first eggs!

We’re also thrilled that the other members of our family are getting along so well with the birds. The dogs leave them alone~ the chickens are often amused by their tales. Today we caught our cat hanging out in the run. The chickens could care less. Pretty funny! You might think we’re a little weird, with our chicken obsession….but hey~ it makes us happy!

2 Responses to “Off Topic Tuesday”

  1. Mom August 4, 2010 at 7:37 am #

    I don’t know about you, but I’m still getting over the loss of Featherfoot! I know I’m just a city girl!

  2. Melissa August 4, 2010 at 2:46 pm #

    I would love to have chickens! My Grandma is from Idaho and always had a fabulous garden and a chicken coop. So I was raised on farm fresh food and have ALWAYS loved it! Why I haven’t done it myself is beyond me, but I don’t think your crazy…LOL!

Leave a Reply

