Cheap & Crafty

23 Jul

In my last post, I was attempting to win one of those cute sweaty bands~ did you get a chance to check it out? Well, I didn’t win. Yes, I was bummed. And, with me being my cheap skate self~ I couldn’t pull myself together to spend $15 for a headband! But I quickly got over it. Looking at the headbands, I thought~ “Shoot! I can make that!” I’ve got this little crafty side~ if I see something “homemade” I can generally make my own version.  And, I was pretty sure I had all the stuff in the closet to do it too (thanks to my bow making a few months ago).  So, I dove into the closet that needs to be cleaned out, pulled out some cute grossgrain ribbon, some velvet ribbon and a little elastic. Dusted off the sewing machine and look at what I whipped together today:

 Cute, huh? I also love the cheetah~ thinkin it’s gonna make me run faster! So, far, I love my creation~ the “original” creation of this says they are guaranteed not to slip. I really really doubted that~ I have NEVER had a head band that was elastic that didn’t slip. Not sure if it’s my strong forehead muscles, but they would always work their way back and before long, be off. My little creation has not slipped! I’ve been jumping up and down, wiggling my eyebrows, shaking my head….and the think won’t slip! So, my bummer mood of not winning has now pushed me to make something fun, and I’m super stoked! Thinkin these would make great gifts for friends~ cute for even non athletic “stuff”.  Maybe I should whip some of these up and attempt to sell them for $5.  Do you think that’s a fair price?

Oh, and The Girl wanted to help Mommy out this morning. So, I made her this cute one:

I have a funny feeling her best friend is going to want one too =) Wouldn’t they be cute going to preschool with these on?

5 Responses to “Cheap & Crafty”

  1. Mom July 23, 2010 at 9:34 am #

    Love it! I think I want one! Am I too old?

  2. Kindra July 23, 2010 at 9:35 am #

    Ummm, yes her bf would like one! 🙂 And yes they would look adorable!! You are So talented, girl! 😉

  3. Tonda July 23, 2010 at 9:39 am #

    came out very cute!

  4. rebecca July 23, 2010 at 9:48 am #

    so totally cute!! i would totally buy one for $5!! AND if i had a little girl i’d buy her some too!! 🙂 WTG Sandy!!

  5. Erin August 14, 2010 at 4:38 pm #

    Hmm. I may stop at the craft store and give this s try. Super cute!!

Leave a Reply

