It is Monday, isn’t it?

12 Jul

Happy Monday morning friends! Hope you all had great weekends. I got in a few fun things, a little shopping, a birthday party, Church and then the grocery store. All weekend long, I kept thinking, I need to get out for a run. But, the day would start winding down, and I’d get lazy and say, nah, not today =)

Last night I told myself, I’ll get up and go tomorrow. Finally I got out of bed at 6, got my running skirt and shoes on, and…….sat down! HAHA! I laugh at myself sometimes. I sat next to my hubby, looked at him and said I don’t want to (like the tired teenager who doesn’t want to get out of bed~ yeah, that’s how I sounded…lol). He’s so good to me. He said, “You don’t have to hun. At least you look cute” (Have I mentioned how much I LOVE him).

So, I sat for about 3 minutes, drank my coffee, and knew that if I didn’t go today, it would be another day before I really got to get in a run (and I’ve got the Rock N Roll half marathon in October in the back of my mind). So, I mustered up the effort and decided to go.

I made it a short run, just good to be out there. One thing that is always so funny to me though~ I’ve heard this saying before and it applies to so many things in life: If you think you can , you’re right, if you think you can’t, you’re right.  And that was me today~ half of me believed that I could and the other sleepy half had no belief. This morning, (like most of my morning runs) I had to convince myself that I had the energy to get going. And even while I was out there, half of me wanted to stop running. But, I finished my run. And feel that much better~ I’m up and going and glad I actually made myself run.

On a side note, below is one of my “friends” I get to run by on my short runs. Isn’t she cute? I keep telling my husband I want one, but he says we don’t have enough room. =P

Isn't she cute? Don't you think she'd be a great addition to my backyard? And can you imagine the eggs...massive!

3 Responses to “It is Monday, isn’t it?”

  1. Melissa July 12, 2010 at 8:45 am #

    I am LOL’ing with you!!!! I SOOOOO feel that way on so many days! If it weren’t for Jose literally dragging me to the park (so he could practice) one day last week, I wouldn’t have made a day.
    I have so many people complementing me, making me feel good, motivating me. But my body is so lazy! Ha, I admitted it! Anyways, thanks for this blog…your getting my juices flowing to blog on mine about my journey.
    Now if I could find that “extra time” to get on the computer again =)

  2. Heather Bird July 12, 2010 at 6:23 pm #

    Why doesn’t our brain remember how we feel after our runs during the moments when we are trying to muster up the motivation to just get running! I feel your pain.

  3. Kindra July 14, 2010 at 7:16 am #

    Those would be YUMMY scrambled!!! 🙂

Leave a Reply

