Buddy Running

8 Jul

I’ll just put it out there….running can get pretty boring. I generally run the same route and the scenery doesn’t change much and you can get really burned out…. but only if you let it! One of the ways I like to mix it up a bit is to add a friend to the mix. For one, I’m a lot less likely to flake out on my run~ I’ve got someone else who’s depending on me and I’m not about to cancel on some good girlfriend chattin’ time. My runs also go by a lot faster~ did we really just run 3 miles?

Today, I got to run with my good friend “G”. G and I hadn’t seen much of each other lately~ we’ve chatted a lot on Facebook, but there’s something about face-to-face time with a friend. G and I headed out early this morning for a 3 mile run. It was a great run~ foggy as we left (I was afraid we’d freeze our skirts off). As we headed down the long road, the sun broke through and we got to see a gorgeous sunrise. Before long, we were back in the drive way and our 35 minutes out on the road set us up for a great day. If I wouldn’t have had a friend to share my run with this morning, I’m pretty sure I would have hit the snooze button a few extra times and curled up in the covers~ too foggy, too tired, etc (I’m REALLY REALLY good at making excuses to not get out there…)

Thanks G for some good company today! I know I’m going to be in a much better mood today cause I got a bit of me time this morning. Thanks for sharing it with me =) Soon, you’ll have to get me out on a bike….(maybe a tri in my future?)

3 Responses to “Buddy Running”

  1. Mom July 8, 2010 at 11:20 am #

    It’s also much safer! Something a mom can appreciate!

    • amomontherun July 8, 2010 at 11:40 am #

      Yes, it is! Another good point! Makes the husband happier too =)

  2. Heather Bird July 12, 2010 at 6:21 pm #

    Wish I was there to do some buddy running with you gals!

Leave a Reply

