Run for Fun?! (Part 2)

1 Jul
!
Me and My Sister at the Susan G Koman Race for the Cure at Dodger’s Stadium. Our First 5k

 

YOU’RE BACK! Guess you liked what I had to say in my first rendition of this post, and you’re dying to know more about me and my running habits….or you’re really bored and don’t have much else to do to make the day tick away….Reguardless, thanks for coming back =-). I’m glad you’re here. (And if this is your first time here, make sure you go read part 1 of this post.)

So, I last left off with starting the Couch to 5k program in December. My sister and I had signed up for the Susan G. Koman Race for the Cure in March and I needed to get my butt in gear. I started my training off on the treadmill in my room, because it was cold out. (I know, I’m in So Cal, it’s not that cold…) The Boy and the Girl loved to watch me run and would always ask if they could have a turn on the treadmill too. The first  couple of times I ran, I’ll admit, I used to think, what the heck am I thinking?! But I had to get ready for this March thing, so I was determined to get up to running about 30 minutes straight. There were a couple of weeks that I wasn’t able to make the running plan, but when March 14th came around, and I had to run my first 5k, I did great. (Although there was this big ‘ole nast hill at the start of the run that about did me in!). I was able to finish my first “official” 5k run in 31 minutes. Not too shabby! And I loved the “event atmosphere.” All those other people out there running some predetermined course just because they wanted to, and lots of other people cheering you on. I kinda got hooked!

Me & Grandpa after playing in the mud!

While in the training process for the SGK run, my grandpa and I decided to run the Irvine Lakes Mud Run~ so now I had something else exciting to train for. Grandpa and I had run the Camp Pendleton Mud Run back when I was in High School~ I think we have a new tradition here. The Mud Run was crazy fun (LOVE these events!) where Grandpa and I laughed the entire time. I joked with friends that I was getting a mud treatment (and aren’t there women who pay GOOD money to go and sit in mud?!).

After my mud run, I’m pretty hooked. And, looking for my next big run (cause as a runner, I need to always be training for something or else I won’t get out there and run…) Some good friends decided to run the San Diego Rock ‘N Roll Relay Marathon. They take the marathon and split it up into four parts so those of us that aren’t at crazy marathon status can still be apart of the fun. But now I’ve got to get up to 6.5 miles~ that was interesting…

Me and 2 of the other team members crossing the finish together. Do we look like we're having fun?!

 But, for me, once I hit the 45 minute mark, an extra 15 minutes felt like nothing, so I started taking the longer route, zigging and zagging the streets instead of going straight, and slowly my 3 miles turned into 4, then 4 turned into 6. And, last month I ran the relay~ my leg was 6+ miles. There were thousands of people out there and I was absolute hooked! Again, the event atmosphere was SO much fun~ I wanted to keep running even though my portion of the run was up. I made the decision right then and there that I HAD to train for a half marathon, and maybe next year do the full marathon.  

So, there you have it! That’s my running story in a nut shell. I’m looking forward to keeping you updated about my running adventures. Hope you’ll stay tuned!

One Response to “Run for Fun?! (Part 2)”

  1. Heather July 1, 2010 at 1:52 pm #

    Love the mud run… I have yet to do one yet, but I really like the idea and want to try one soon. Your grandpa looks so young – must be all the running and of course the “mud baths.”

Leave a Reply

