Run for Fun?!

30 Jun

Yes, I run for fun. Pure enjoyment, at this point. I really enjoy getting out there where it’s just me and the road, and the occasional friend I can find to pound the pavement with me for a few miles. For me, it’s a release thing. After a long day at home with the Boy and the Girl, I am often DONE ~ mentally and emotionally. My Man gets home and I am shortly out the door.  Sometimes it’s not till the next morning (especially now that it’s getting hot here). regardless of the time of day, my time on the road is my time. It’s a time to release my thoughts, pray, listen to MY music, and not have anyone else pulling on me.  

But, I haven’t always really loved running. In high school I was on the distance team for track and on the cross country team. I think I joined more to get my letter for my jacket more than anything! You see, I’m extremely uncoordinated! I can not kick a ball, dribble a ball, hit a ball, throw a ball, etc. to save my life. Seriously, I have NO skill when it comes to that. BUT, I can run in a fairly straight line. (I’ve even fallen off my own treadmill…gotta focus!) 

Lisa (BFF from HS) and Me~ I think I looked cute while running =P (look at the socks~ we had team spirit!)

 

In high school, I did not enjoy running. When first running on the high school track team, I told my coach, that whatever race he was going to put me in, I did NOT want to go out for the 3200 (2 miles) for the first race. What did he do? Put me in that DARN 3200! I think I was cursing him under my breath as I ran those boring 8 laps. I think he put me in that run because, let’s face it, I was not the best runner. I think all the coaches put the kids who suck at running in the 3200. Then I was talked into running on the cross-country team (did the coach just want numbers or something? He knew I stunk!). My high school was in the high desert of Southern California and we would run dirt roads by the school. I would look around, make sure no one was looking….and then I’d walk most of the course!  

Fast forward to present day life… I decided to get back into running in December of ’09. I had tried the Couch to 5k Plan before (see link to the side), without much luck. But this time it had to stick~ my sister had talked me into running the Susan G Koman Race for the Cure 5k at Dodger’s Stadium. This plan is amazing~ and I highly recommend it to anyone getting into running. It is an easy program that starts you off with running a minute, walking a minute~ who can’t do that?! And the love of running really began.  

This post is getting long, and I’m sorry to abruptly stop it~ cause I know you are just getting comfy and enjoying my story, but the Boy and the Girl need my attention (they have destroyed the house in the amount of time it has taken me to write this…) 

I promise I’ll hop on soon and finish this good story! There is more good details to come!

5 Responses to “Run for Fun?!”

  1. Heather Bird June 30, 2010 at 6:52 pm #

    Sandy, we are so alike in regards to running. Love it NOW. I would love to come join you for a race at some point. Some friends and I all met in Vegas for the half-marathon last December and it was so great… a vacation and an awesome accomplishment. Will be anxiously awaiting more posts 🙂

    • amomontherun July 8, 2010 at 11:43 am #

      Let’s definitely look into meeting up in December. Vegas could be fun!

  2. Mom June 30, 2010 at 8:33 pm #

    I got a great laugh reading this blog! You are too funny. I kept thinking but she can sing!!!

    Love,
    Mom

  3. lisa July 8, 2010 at 11:02 am #

    Yeah! I made your blog! I think it is crazy that we are both getting back into running at the same time! Thomas’s cross-country team is having their summer training camp in Wrightwood this year to train in the altitude. I hope they are ready for it!

    • amomontherun July 8, 2010 at 11:41 am #

      I was wondering if you were going to see this =) What are you training for? We should try and do a race together.

Leave a Reply

